

UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST IN THE PHILIPPINES

877 Epifanio de los Santos Avenue, Quezon City P.O. Box 718, Manila Central Post Office, 1099 Ermita, Manila Telephones: (632) 426-9157 ● 426-3790 Telefax: (632) 426-1729 E-mail: ogs@uccpchurch.com Website: www.uccpchurch.com

UCCP GENERAL ASSEMBLY OFFICERS 2018-2022

Mr. Keith Arleigh D. Quebral Chairperson

> Ms. Evelyn V. Yap Vice Chairperson

Bishop Melzar D. Labuntog General Secretary

> Mr. Lauro C. Millan National Treasurer

Mr. Segundino T. Zantua, Jr. National Auditor

JURISDICTIONAL AREA BISHOPS

Bishop Joseph G. Agpaoa North Luzon Jurisdiction

> Bishop Joel E. Tendero South Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Emergencio D. Padillo Middle Luzon Jurisdiction

Bishop Feliciana P. Tenchavez West Visayas Jurisdiction

> **Bishop Jerome C. Baris** East Visayas Jurisdiction

Bishop Ligaya F. San Francisco Northwest Mindanao Jurisdiction

> Bishop Hamuel G. Tequis Southeast Mindanao Jurisdiction

STAND UNITED IN DOING CHRIST'S MISSION IN THESE CHANGING AND CHALLENGING TIMES

(A Statement on UCCP-Haran)

Over the past seven decades (7) of its existence as a church, the United Church of Christ in the Philippines (UCCP) had unswervingly been accompanying the poor and oppressed sectors of our society. It has never waivered in its commitment to deplore any forms of injustice committed against the helpless and the destitute. UCCP-Haran's ministry to the Lumads in Davao is one of our concrete expressions of serving the least of our people.

As leaders of the UCCP, we see the reported possible filing of charges against UCCP-Haran as a gesture of harassment and intimidation against those who advocate peace and justice. It is a threat against the commitment of the church to do Christ's mission of ministering to the oppressed and the marginalized.

UCCP-Haran has for many years now been serving as a domicile for Lumads who had been forcibly displaced by violence and attacks by paramilitary groups. It has served as a home for victims of oppression and unpeace. It has become a place of healing among them who have been distressed by intermittent harassment and violence committed against them. It also provides a venue for the schooling of Lumad children. But more than these, UCCP-Haran is a sanctuary of peace in keeping with God's own purpose: "For he will deliver the needy who cry out, the afflicted who have no one to help. He will take pity on the weak and the needy and save the needy from death. He will rescue them from oppression and violence, for precious is their blood in his sight." — Psalm 72:12-14

Like any other advocates of peace, UCCP-Haran is constantly susceptible to dangers and threats. Yet our faith and commitment have never weakened.

We therefore declare our unwavering support to the Southeast Mindanao Jurisdictional Area as they stand firm in their commitment to serve the indigenous peoples especially in their area through UCCP-Haran's ministry. WE also implore our entire constituents to extend support to UCCP-Haran through prayers, solidarity statements or any other forms of concern and support.

Let us stand united in doing Christ's mission in these changing and challenging times!

In solidarity with UCCP-Haran,

Bishop Hilario M. Gomez, Jr.

Bishop Reuel Norman O. Marigza

Bishop Marino I. Inong

THE UCCP COUNCIL OF BISHOPS May 25, 2019 Bishop Melzar D. Labuntog General Secretary **Bishop Joseph G. Agpaoa Bishop Emergencio D. Padillo** Bishop Assigned to North Luzon Jurisdictional Bishop Assigned to Middle Luzon Jurisdictional Area Area Bishop Joel E.) Tendero **Bishop Jerome C. Baris** Bishop Assigned to South Luzon Jurisdictional Bishop Assigned to East Visayas Jurisdictional Area Area **Bishop Feliciana P. Tenchavez** Bishop Ligava F. San Francisco Bishop Assigned to North West Mindanao Bishop Assigned to West Visayas Jurisdictional Jurisdictional Area Area **Bishop Hamuel G. Tequis** Bishop Assigned to South East Mindanao Jurisdictional Area **Bishops Emeritus: Bishop Arturo R. Asi Bishop Roel P. Mendoza Bishop Jezer E. Bertoldo Bishop Jaime R. Moriles Bishop Isaias L. Bingtan Bishop Eliezer M. Pascua Bishop Erme R. Camba Bishop Dulce Pia-Rose Bishop Ebenezer C. Camino Bishop Elorde M. Sambat Bishop Constante D. Claro Bishop Anacleto G. Serafica Bishop Gabriel A. Garol Bishop Jessie S. Suarez**

Bishop Rizalino Q. Taganas

Bishop Modesto D. Villasanta