

UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST IN THE PHILIPPINES

877 Epifanio de los Santos Avenue, West Triangle, Quezon City
P.O Box 718, Manila Central Post Office, 1099 Ermita, Manila
Telephone: (632) 8426-1729 * 8426-3790 * 8436-9157 Fax: (632) 8426-1729
E-mail: ogs@uccpchurch.com
Website: www.uccpchurch.com

A BREATH OF PEACE IN THESE TRYING TIMES

UCCP welcomes ceasefire between GRP and NDFP

"My people will abide in a peaceful habitation, in secure dwellings, and in quiet resting places."

Isaiah 32:18

The United Church of Christ in the Philippines (UCCP) joins the wider ecumenical movement, through the Philippine Ecumenical Peace Platform (PEPP), in hailing the separate declarations of unilateral ceasefire of the Government of the Republic of the Philippines (GRP) and the National Democratic Front of the Philippines, as the nation faces a common enemy in the COVID-19.

Even as the peace talks are currently stalled, goodwill from the conflicting parties brings a welcome relief in our conflict-ridden land. The declaration of unilateral ceasefire augurs well in providing an atmosphere where unhampered and hopefully rapid delivery of the much needed medical services are provided.

We appeal to both parties to take this one more step further, that is, to develop a common framework and mechanism that will prevent spoilers from causing disruption of this ceasefire.

We hope and pray that both sides begin to seriously consider anew the resumption of peace talks after this crisis is over. As the UCCP Statement "Peacemaking: Our Ministry" asserts – "Real peace happens when the roots of conflicts and violence are removed, when a just social structure is built, and when human rights and dignity are held sacred." "Genuine peace can be attained only when founded on justice."

THE UCCP COUNCIL OF BISHOPS

March 30, 2020

Bishop Melzar D. Labuntog General Secretary

Bishop Joseph G. Agpaoa
Bishop Assigned to North Luzon
Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Joel E. Tendero
Bishop Assigned to South Luzon
Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Feliciana P. Tenchavez
Bishop Assigned to West
Visayas Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Emergencio D. Padillo Bishop Assigned to Middle Luzon Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Jerome C. Baris
Bishop Assigned to East Visayas
Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Ligaya F. San Francisco
Bishop Assigned to North West Mindanao
Jurisdictional Area

Bishop Hamuel G. Tequis

Bishop Assigned to South East Mindanao Jurisdictional Area

Bishops Emeritus

Bishop Arturo R. Asi
Bishop Jezer E. Bertoldo
Bishop Isaias L. Bingtan
Bishop Erme R. Camba
Bishop Ebenezer C. Camino
Bishop Constante D. Claro
Bishop Gabriel A. Garol
Bishop Hilario M. Gomez, Jr.
Bishop Marino I. Inong

Bishop Reuel Norman O. Marigza

Bishop Roel P. Mendoza
Bishop Jaime R. Moriles
Bishop Eliezer M. Pascua
Bishop Dulce Pia-Rose
Bishop Elorde M. Sambat
Bishop Anacleto G. Serafica
Bishop Jessie S. Suarez
Bishop Rizalino Q. Taganas
Bishop Modesto D. Villasanta